Benalla welcomes new citizens

Published on 05 July 2024

BRCC Citizenship June 2024.jpg

Seven local residents took the Australian Citizenship pledge at a Citizenship Ceremony conducted by the Mayor Cr Danny Claridge at the Benalla Art Gallery on Thursday 20 June 2024.

Making the citizenship pledge were Xiaoyan (Yancy) Brown, Naphatsanun Ingram, Thep-Arak Worasethakorn, Artur Nils Michael Nylen, Nuru Nakitto, Emily Parton, Caroline Wiszowaty and Chantevy Yiv.

“I am delighted to welcome our newest citizens to our community,” Cr Claridge said on Thursday.

“Today we have new Australian citizens that have come here from far and wide. These families and individuals hail from six different countries including China, Thailand, Sweden, Uganda, Cambodia and the United Kingdom, and each will add strength and diversity to our country and community.”

Brian Hill, representing the North East Multicultural Association, joined the Mayor as part of the formal ceremony to present our newest citizens with a welcome gift. 

Tagged as: